Dr. Azim Gangji

Dr. Azim Gangji is a Professor of Medicine prior Program Director of Nephrology and present Fellowship Director of Solid Organ Transplantation, Glomerulonephritis, Geriatric Nephrology and Home Dialysis at McMaster University and St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton. He is also the chair of the Postgraduate Medical Specialties Fellowship Directors Committee and Chair of the Undergraduate Medical Specialty’s Clerkship Electives Programs at McMaster University. Dr. Gangji has a strong interest in medical education and has introduced various innovative programs including introducing a case-based learning program for Internal Medicine Residents. He is the recipient of the prestigious Donald R Wilson/RCPSC award for introducing innovative methods of teaching of CanMEDS roles. Dr. Gangji is also a graduate of the Health Research Methodology program at McMaster and is involved in clinical research with his focus being on volume assessment and associated clinical outcomes in patients with chronic kidney disease and those on dialysis and renal transplant recipients.


As a nephrologist, Dr. Gangji has provides care for renal transplant patients and has an interest in high risk transplantation.  He has helped establish a Dialysis unit at Doobay Medical and Research Centre in Guyana and is now transforming this organization into a hospital providing full service care to patients in Guyana.  He has also been pivotal and initiated a program whereby medical learners from Guyana can come down to train in nephrology and other medical specialties.  He has been directly involved in providing advanced specialty education in renal care and dialysis for our international physicians training in Hamilton, for many years.


Dr. Gangji is the inaugural VP, Education at  St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton and leads all educational activities in the hospital.  Dr. Gangji has been acknowledged at McMaster being the recipient of the 2021 Health Professions Educator Award from McMaster University.  He has also been acknowledged nationally as the recipient of the Canadian Association of Medical Education Merit Award, the Canadian Society of Nephrology Excellence in Education award, the Canadian Society of Transplantation Excellence in Teaching and Education Award and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons Program Director of the Year award.